loader

SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 70 EUROS PURCHASE

Out of stock

companions-wernicke-loose-joints-publishing-cover
companions-wernicke-loose-joints-publishing-1
companions-wernicke-loose-joints-publishing-2
companions-wernicke-loose-joints-publishing-3

Companions

Yana Wernicke

Loose Joints Publishing

Publication date : 2023/03/01
Weight 550 g / Dimensions 17 x 24 cm / 112 pages
ISBN 9781912719303

Featured in our selection(s):

Wernicke documents with subtle grace the close bonds between two young women and the farm animals that they rescue, love, play with and care for, in a series mixing German romanticism and modern ethics.

John Berger’s landmark Why Look at Animals? describes the “species loneliness” of modern man: how the ancient relationships between humans and nature have broken down, reducing the existence of animals to marginalised objects, as commodities, and as Other. Concerned with modern humanity’s yearning for a deeper connection to ecology, Wernicke’s series is a touching portrait of two young women who have established profound relationships with animals. Rosina and Julie each independently save animals from certain death and create bonds of love and trust with animals typically considered solely for their economic value.

In German, Companions, or Weggefährten, is a hybrid word that translates literally as “those who walk the path together”. Through tenderness, touch and intuition, Wernicke’s camera follows that path—of joy, emotions, tenderness and play between humans and animals—striving to close the gulf between our emotional consciousness and those of the other animals we live alongside.

Other titles available

Zenker_Yana-Wernicke_cover

Zenker

Yana Wernicke / Jonas Feige

68,00

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 70 EUROS D'ACHAT.

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

companions-wernicke-loose-joints-publishing-cover
companions-wernicke-loose-joints-publishing-1
companions-wernicke-loose-joints-publishing-2
companions-wernicke-loose-joints-publishing-3

Companions

Yana Wernicke

Loose Joints Publishing

Date de parution : 01/03/2023
Poids 550 g / Dimensions 17 x 24 cm / 112 pages
ISBN 9781912719303

Fait partie de(s) sélection(s) :

Wernicke documente avec une grâce subtile les liens étroits entre deux jeunes femmes et les animaux de la ferme qu’elles sauvent, aiment, jouent et soignent, dans une série mêlant romantisme allemand et éthique moderne.

L’ouvrage phare de John Berger, Pourquoi regarder les animaux ? décrit la « solitude de l’espèce » de l’humain : comment les anciennes relations entre l’humain et la nature se sont brisées, réduisant l’existence des animaux à des objets marginalisés, à des marchandises et à l’Autre. S’intéressant à l’aspiration de l’humanité moderne à un lien plus profond avec l’écologie, la série de Wernicke est un portrait touchant de deux jeunes femmes qui ont établi des relations profondes avec les animaux. Rosina et Julie sauvent chacune de leur côté des animaux d’une mort certaine et créent des liens d’amour et de confiance avec des animaux généralement considérés uniquement pour leur valeur économique.

En allemand, Companions, ou Weggefährten, est un mot hybride qui se traduit littéralement par « ceux qui font le chemin ensemble ». Par la tendresse, le toucher et l’intuition, la caméra de Wernicke suit ce chemin — fait de joie, d’émotions, de tendresse et de jeux entre les humains et les animaux — en s’efforçant de combler le fossé entre notre conscience émotionnelle et celle des autres animaux que nous côtoyons.

Autres titres disponibles

Zenker_Yana-Wernicke_cover

Zenker

Yana Wernicke / Jonas Feige

68,00

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.