loader

SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 70 EUROS PURCHASE

Out of stock

mount-nelson-rosie-marks-rvb-books_cover
mount-nelson-rosie-marks-rvb-books-1
mount-nelson-rosie-marks-rvb-books-2
mount-nelson-rosie-marks-rvb-books-3
mount-nelson-rosie-marks-rvb-books-4

Mount Nelson

Rosie Marks

RVB Books

Publication date : 2024/05/01
Dimensions 24 x 16,8 cm / 112 pages
ISBN 9782492175459

Famed for restoring historic properties, Belmond luxury
hotel group is now collaborating with world-leading contemporary photographers to create bodies of work responding to their destinations, carefully pairing each artist with the personality of the chosen hotel. Rosie Marks photograped Mount Neslon in Cape Town, in spring 2023 and winter 2024.

Rosie Marks remembers seeing the trademark-pink walls of the Mount Nelson Hotel when she was a kid on a family holiday in South Africa. Years later, in this book she captures the rooms and grounds and their inhabitants with a sense of nostalgia, personal connection and her characteristic earthy humour. She was particularly drawn to Mount Nelson’s employees.
Her portraits of the staff, some of whom have worked in the hotel for decades, gazing out at us proudly from windows and offices, offer a glimpse into their daily lives. She explains that she was fascinated by the rhythms of administrative work overlapping with ritual and community – the morning briefings often culminate
in group prayer and singing, an important marker of the day’s beginning.

Above all, her photographs are as much about herself as they are about the people she is photographing: her images reveal what is funny and extraordinary and unique to her, picturing those quirks of human existence that we too often overlook.

Other titles available

RVB_PLAY_jarrigeon

Play

Philippe Jarrigeon

38,00

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 70 EUROS D'ACHAT.

Rupture de stock

mount-nelson-rosie-marks-rvb-books_cover
mount-nelson-rosie-marks-rvb-books-1
mount-nelson-rosie-marks-rvb-books-2
mount-nelson-rosie-marks-rvb-books-3
mount-nelson-rosie-marks-rvb-books-4

Mount Nelson

Rosie Marks

RVB Books

Date de parution : 01/05/2024
Dimensions 24 x 16,8 cm / 112 pages
ISBN 9782492175459

Célèbre pour la restauration de propriétés historiques, le groupe hôtelier de luxe Belmond collabore désormais avec des photographes contemporains de renommée mondiale pour créer des corpus d’œuvres répondant à leurs destinations, en associant soigneusement chaque artiste à la personnalité de l’hôtel choisi. Rosie Marks a photographié le mont Neslon au Cap, au printemps 2023 et à l’hiver 2024.

Rosie Marks se souvient d’avoir vu les murs roses de l’hôtel Mount Nelson lorsqu’elle était enfant et qu’elle passait des vacances en famille en Afrique du Sud. Des années plus tard, dans ce livre, elle capture les chambres, les terrains et leurs habitants avec un sens de la nostalgie, une connexion personnelle et son humour terreux caractéristique. Elle a été particulièrement attirée par les employés de Mount Nelson.
Ses portraits du personnel, dont certains travaillent à l’hôtel depuis des décennies, nous regardent fièrement depuis les fenêtres et les bureaux, offrant un aperçu de leur vie quotidienne. Elle explique qu’elle a été fascinée par les rythmes du travail administratif qui se superposent aux rituels et à la communauté – les réunions d’information du matin se terminent souvent par une prière et un chant collectifs, qui marquent le début de la journée.

Par-dessus tout, ses photographies parlent autant d’elle-même que des personnes qu’elle photographie : ses images révèlent ce qu’elle a d’amusant, d’extraordinaire et d’unique, illustrant ces bizarreries de l’existence humaine que nous négligeons trop souvent.

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.