loader

SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 60 EUROS PURCHASE

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

mystery-street-vasantha-chose-commune-cover
mystery-street-vasantha-chose-commune-1
mystery-street-vasantha-chose-commune-2
mystery-street-vasantha-chose-commune-3
mystery-street-vasantha-chose-commune-4

Mystery Street

Vasantha Yogananthan

Chose Commune

Publication date : 2023/05/06
Weight 2000 g / Dimensions 26.5 x 29.5 cm / 64 pages
ISBN 9791096383382

Featured in our selection(s):

Mystery Street begins and ends with children. Children playing, beaming and daydreaming. Children becoming. In his first North-American series, French photographer Vasantha Yogananthan stands next to the youth and gazes at their level.

With this project, Yogananthan makes a return to documentary photography, yet frees himself from prescriptions and pushes beyond the frame of tradition. Mystery Street works both as a conversation with the real and an escape into multiple narrative possibilities. If this body of work is mainly composed of portraits, Yogananthan’s preferred genre, it is not intended as a comprehensive portrait of New Orleans. Set under the burning sun of Louisiana, this body of work is a fable, it says something about reality, but uses crossroads. It is a comment on human behaviors and yet a transfiguration of the common.

Fragments of a lingering summer, Mystery Street provides us with a minimum of information about space, time, or place, aware of how some figuration bears great weight. In an effort to suspend or avoid overdetermination, he invites viewers to be caught by their own expectations. A turning point in Vasantha Yogananthan’s practice, Mystery Street takes a caring look at kinship, at the intersection of body and environment.

This body of work will be shown at the Henri Cartier-Bresson Foundation (Paris) from May to September 2023 and at the International Center of Photography (New York City) from September 2023 to January 2024. It was produced as part of Immersion, a French-American Photography Commission of the Fondation d’entreprise Hermès, in partnership with the Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson and the International Center of Photography.

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 70 EUROS D'ACHAT.

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

mystery-street-vasantha-chose-commune-cover
mystery-street-vasantha-chose-commune-1
mystery-street-vasantha-chose-commune-2
mystery-street-vasantha-chose-commune-3
mystery-street-vasantha-chose-commune-4

Mystery Street

Vasantha Yogananthan

Chose Commune

Date de parution : 06/05/2023
Poids 2000 g / Dimensions 26.5 x 29.5 cm / 64 pages
ISBN 9791096383382

Fait partie de(s) sélection(s) :

Mystery Street s’ouvre et s’achève sur des portraits d’enfants. Des enfants qui jouent, qui pensent et qui nous regardent. Des enfants en devenir. Pour sa première série nord-américaine, le photographe français Vasantha Yogananthan nous invite, le long d’un été, à (re)voir le monde à hauteur d’enfant.

Avec ce projet, Yogananthan revient vers la photographie documentaire tout en s’affranchissant de ses codes et en repoussant les limites du genre. Mystery Street fonctionne à la fois comme une conversation avec le réel et une échappée vers une multiplicité de récits possibles. Si cette série est principalement composée de portraits, genre de prédilection de Yogananthan, elle ne cherche pas à camper un tableau complet de La Nouvelle-Orléans. Sous le soleil brûlant de la Louisiane, l’œuvre s’appréhende comme une fable, esquissant la réalité tout en empruntant des chemins de traverse. Elle mêle observation des comportements humains et transfiguration de l’ordinaire.

Fragments d’un été qui se prolonge, Mystery Street donne à voir le strict minimum quant au lieu, au temps et à l’espace, conscient du poids que peuvent véhiculer les éléments figuratifs. Œuvrant à éviter toute surdétermination, ou à en interrompre le processus, le photographe invite les spectateurs à se laisser guider par leur propre imaginaire. Mystery Street marque un renouveau dans la pratique de Yogananthan et pose un regard sur l’amitié, au croisement des corps et de leur environnement.

La série Mystery Street est exposée à la Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson à Paris de mai à septembre 2023 et à l’International Center of Photography à New York de septembre 2023 à janvier 2024. Ce travail a été réalisé dans le cadre du programme Immersion, une commande photographique franco-américaine de la Fondation d’entreprise Hermès, en partenariat avec la Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson et l’International Center of Photography.

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.