loader

SHIPPING COST 1 EURO IN FRANCE FROM 70 EUROS PURCHASE

In stock

Standard delivery 3 to 7 days

pots-robert-auguste-gyn-gausserand-iris-editions-cover
pots-robert-auguste-gyn-gausserand-iris-editions-1
pots-robert-auguste-gyn-gausserand-iris-editions-2

POTS, ROBERT AUGUSTE & GYN GAUSSERAND

Gyn Gausserand / Robert Auguste

IRIS éditions

Publication date : 2023/04/01
Weight 980 g / Dimensions 24 x 32 cm / 192 pages
ISBN 9782494625013

Gyn Gausserand and Robert Auguste met in 1948 at the Fontcarrade pottery school in Montpellier. They shared the same studio throughout their lives; first in Vallauris with the whole gang (Capron, Derval, Kostanda, Picasso of course, Picault, Ramié, etc.), then in Millau, and finally in Pouzilhac where they settled in a studio house to work more and better—to create their world.

This book is an opportunity to shed light on a pottery workshop that was active for nearly seventy years, from the early 1950s until 2017, by highlighting its technical, ideological and cultural aspects. In Vallauris, their production was already polymorphous: the resolutely modern and free approach of the duo formed by Gyn and Robert is remarkable and concurrent with their work in other workshops. Gyn made decors at their neighbour Jacques Lignier, while Robert worked as a turner with Odette Gourju Naumowitch and her husband Ljuba (parents of Jacques Innocenti) at the Grand Chêne workshop. Their creations, signed RGA Vallauris, RGA, R et G Auguste, RA, GG, Gyn, reveal not just culinary pieces but also pots with a sculptural appearance and panels with painted decorations that take on a truly artistic dimension, one beyond the mere sense of use. When they left Vallauris, Gyn and Robert made their autonomy a priority. The most important thing was to make themselves available for encounters in their pottery studio—the place where they made and sold their work. The talent of these two potters, who were allies from the start, is to have developed throughout their lives a vocabulary of very identifiable forms present from the beginning of their activity. Their fidelity to this style is verified by the numerous archival images and signatures from all eras presenting minute variations in decoration.

The charismatic Robert and Gyn had very different personalities and, conscious of their complementarity, chose an alternative lifestyle that serves as an early echo of today’s revival of the earth trades.

This publication includes excerpts from interviews, selections from photographic and written archives (letters, drawings, poems, chemical formulas, accounting records), and contemporary in situ photographs taken by the artist-filmmaker Ben Russell of the pieces remaining in what was Robert and Gyn’s last pottery workshop. This monograph is co-published by IRIS éditions and Dent-de-Leone.

Other titles available

Contact us
Surname
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

loader

LIVRAISON À 1 EURO EN FRANCE À PARTIR DE 70 EUROS D'ACHAT.

En stock

Livraison standard 3 à 7 jours

pots-robert-auguste-gyn-gausserand-iris-editions-cover
pots-robert-auguste-gyn-gausserand-iris-editions-1
pots-robert-auguste-gyn-gausserand-iris-editions-2

POTS, ROBERT AUGUSTE & GYN GAUSSERAND

Gyn Gausserand / Robert Auguste

IRIS éditions

Date de parution : 01/04/2023
Poids 980 g / Dimensions 24 x 32 cm / 192 pages
ISBN 9782494625013

Fait partie de(s) sélection(s) :

Gyn Gausserand et Robert Auguste se rencontrent en 1948 à l’école de poterie de Fontcarrade à Montpellier. Ils partagent le même atelier toute leur vie durant, d’abord à Vallauris, avec toute la bande (Capron, Derval, Kostanda, Picasso bien sûr, Picault, Ramié, etc. ), puis à Millau, et enfin à Pouzilhac où ils s’établissent dans une maison atelier pour travailler plus et mieux, pour créer leur monde.

Cet ouvrage est l’occasion de mettre en lumière un atelier de poterie actif pendant près de soixante-dix ans depuis le début des années 50 jusqu’en 2017, en mettant en évidence les aspects techniques, idéologiques et culturels de celui-ci. À Vallauris, leur production est déjà polymorphe : l’approche résolument moderne et libre du duo formé par Gyn et Robert est remarquable et chacun travaille aussi dans d’autres ateliers. Gyn réalise des décors chez leur voisin Jacques Lignier, tandis que Robert travaille comme tourneur auprès d’Odette Gourju Naumowitch et de son mari Ljuba (parents de Jacques Innocenti), à l’atelier du Grand Chêne. Leurs créations, signées RGA Vallauris, RGA, R et G Auguste, RA, GG, Gyn, révèlent des pièces culinaires mais aussi des pots aux allures sculpturales et des panneaux aux décors peints qui prennent une dimension bel et bien artistique, au-delà du seul sens de l’usage. Ils ont par ailleurs réussi à penser leur autonomie en quittant Vallauris. Le plus important était de faire et de se rendre disponibles à la rencontre dans leur atelier, lieu du travail et de la vente. Le talent de ces deux potiers, alliés de toujours, est d’avoir su développer tout au long de leur vie un vocabulaire de formes très identifiable présent dès les débuts de leur activité. Cette fidélité à leur style est vérifiée par les nombreuses images d’archives et par des signatures de toutes époques présentant d’infimes variations de décors.

Les charismatiques Robert et Gyn avaient des personnalités très différentes, conscients de leur complémentarité, choisissant un mode de vie alternatif qui fait aujourd’hui écho au regain que nous connaissons autour des métiers de la terre.

Cette publication inclue des extraits d’entretiens, des morceaux choisis, des archives photographiques, écrites (lettres, dessins, poèmes, formules chimiques, registres comptables) mais aussi des photographies contemporaines in situ des pièces restées dans ce qui fut leur dernier atelier.

Autres titres disponibles

Contactez-nous
Nom
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.